New Release – Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

9781101886434

New Release – Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

 

Title:  Blurred Lines

Series: Standalone

 

Author: Lauren Layne

Publisher: Loveswept

Publication Date: August 25, 2015

Format: EBook

Genre:  New Adult & College Romance, Romantic Comedy

Pages:  254 pages

 

Rating:  5/5 stars

 

Synopsis: In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, USA Todaybestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

 

 

Review:   I kind of stumbled upon my first Lauren Layne book, Broken, when I was looking for another book with a similar name.  I am so happy I did.  Lauren Layne writes with an easy flow and develops characters with so much depth.

Blurred Lines is funny—at times down right hysterical—yet, romantic and sweet and even frustrating (but in a good way).  She sets up the story without requiring too much pretense or back story.  The storyline isn’t unique—there are a lot of best-friends-to-lovers books out there—but what makes this book different is the reality in the way it is written.  The obstacles that are thrown in the couple’s way are not some gargantuan mountains to climb with ridiculous and unnecessary characters that are written just for the sake of needing more drama.  In fact, there only a handful of characters in this book (main and secondary) and all played a necessary and well-thought part in Ben’s and Parker’s journey.  Layne takes the reader on a journey through every emotion in this book.  Be warned, this is kind of an emotional rollercoaster in the best way possible.

This is a standalone novel told from alternating 1st person POVs with a HEA.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *