Review: A Shattered Heart by Tiffany King


Title:  A Shattered Heart

Series: Fractured Lives Book 2

Author: Tiffany King

Publication Date: September 28, 2015

Genre:  New Adult Romance

Rating:  5/5 stars


From Tiffany King, USA Today Bestselling Author of A Shattered Moment, comes book 2 in the Fractured Lives Series.

A Shattered Heart is the story of Kathleen “Kat” Darby who discovers that although you can run away, you can never escape the ghosts from your past.

Physically, Kat Darby walked away relatively unscathed from the tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation. Emotionally, her scars run much deeper from the loss of two of her best friends and her longtime boyfriend, Dan. Unable to face the constant reminders of the person she thought she would love forever, Kat leaves for twelve months to study art in France before returning home to start her life again.

Life in Florida proves more difficult than Kat anticipated with remnants of the accident still lingering. The only solace she can find is in her love for art until she runs into Brian, the younger brother of her deceased former boyfriend. Finding they can lean on each other, Kat and Brian find comfort in their emotional common bond. When an unexpected romance develops, Kat must decide if she is willing to face the ghosts from her past in order to love again.

Review:  Tiffany King hits another one out of the park with this emotional read!!

Book two in the Fractured Lives series, A Shattered Heart is Kat’s story.  The series revolves around a group of life-long friends who were involved in a terrible car accident on the night of their high school graduation.  Not all of them survived.  The series deals with each of the survivors and their guilt and suffering after the accident.  Book one was Mac’s story.  Now it’s Kat’s turn.

This was such an emotional read touching on survivor’s guilt and remorse.  The characters are so realistic.  Tiffany King writes unapologetically.  Her characters are flawed and their trauma is real.  There are no easy answers which to the problems Kat faces and Tiffany King doesn’t write an easy resolution.

This is a fabulous series and book two is another home run.

Each novel can be read as a standalone, but I would recommend starting with book one because the characters are so interconnected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *