New Release review: A Friendly Arrangement by Christine Warner

  

Title: A Friendly Arrangement 

Series: Friends First book 2

Author: Christine Warner
Publication Date: October 27, 2015

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Rating:3/5 stars
Synopsis: when your plus one becomes “the one”?

Holly Haggerty and Roth Esterly are two besties with everything in common–they’re neighbors, career-driven, and commitment-phobes. Tired of always being set up on dates by well-meaning friends and family, they take matters into their own hands: they will be the other’s plus one–a little friendly arrangement between friends.
Easy…until a steamy night where they cross the line. But that’s okay, they’ll add an addendum–one that includes a little action between the sheets…on top of the sheets…and without the sheets. But there are rules. Dating and sex are exclusive until one of them decides to terminate the agreement. No slumber parties. And if either party becomes emotionally involved they will break things off with no hard feelings.
When unexpected news changes their plans and turns their fun arrangement into something more serious, Holly and Roth must come to terms with what’s more important–what they thought they wanted, or what they really need.
I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Review: Well, this book was just okay for me. I enjoy friends-to-lovers romances, but this one wasn’t my favorite. The feels were there some of the time, but I just didn’t feel it when reading the most important parts of the story. The characters are likable, but at times I found myself irritated with Roth’s immaturity. I also found I had to stretch my imagination to make their long time friendship believable. There was just something missing here. The steamy scenes were pretty great and it had a satisfying HEA.  

New Release – Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

9781101886434

New Release – Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne

 

Title:  Blurred Lines

Series: Standalone

 

Author: Lauren Layne

Publisher: Loveswept

Publication Date: August 25, 2015

Format: EBook

Genre:  New Adult & College Romance, Romantic Comedy

Pages:  254 pages

 

Rating:  5/5 stars

 

Synopsis: In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, USA Todaybestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.

 

 

Review:   I kind of stumbled upon my first Lauren Layne book, Broken, when I was looking for another book with a similar name.  I am so happy I did.  Lauren Layne writes with an easy flow and develops characters with so much depth.

Blurred Lines is funny—at times down right hysterical—yet, romantic and sweet and even frustrating (but in a good way).  She sets up the story without requiring too much pretense or back story.  The storyline isn’t unique—there are a lot of best-friends-to-lovers books out there—but what makes this book different is the reality in the way it is written.  The obstacles that are thrown in the couple’s way are not some gargantuan mountains to climb with ridiculous and unnecessary characters that are written just for the sake of needing more drama.  In fact, there only a handful of characters in this book (main and secondary) and all played a necessary and well-thought part in Ben’s and Parker’s journey.  Layne takes the reader on a journey through every emotion in this book.  Be warned, this is kind of an emotional rollercoaster in the best way possible.

This is a standalone novel told from alternating 1st person POVs with a HEA.