New release review: Missing Dixie by Caisey Quinn


Title: Missing Dixie
Series: Neon Dreams #3

Author: Caisey Quinn

Publication Date: October 27, 2015
Genre: New Adult & College Romance
Pages: 304 pages

Rating: 5/5 stars
Synopsis: Fighting for redemption . . .
I’ve lived most of my life in darkness, beneath the shadows of secrets and addictions. The last thing I ever wanted to do was hurt the only girl I’d ever loved—the one who brought me into the light. In my entire life I’d made one promise—a promise I’d intended to keep. I’ve broken that promise and now I have to live with the fallout. Dixie Lark hates me, and I have to tell her that I love her. I also have to tell her a truth that might destroy us forever.
Can she love me, even if she can’t forgive me?
Learning to move on . . .
Gavin Garrison broke his promise to my brother and he broke my heart in the process.I may never love anyone the way I’ve loved him, but at least I won’t spend my life wondering “what if.” We had our one night and he walked away. I’m beginning to move on, but my brother’s wedding and a battle of the bands are about to throw us together again.
Our band is getting a second chance, but I don’t know if I can give him one. How do you hand your heart back to the person who set it on fire once already?

Review: I feel like I waited for this book forever. Finally, Gavin’s story. I was not disappointed. This third book in the Neon Dreams series is a story of redemption and never giving up on the one you love.

Gavin Garrison is one of the most misunderstood book characters I’ve ever read. In Leaving Amarillo (Neon Dreams book one), I just read Gavin as a troubled jerk who couldn’t make up his mind. Missing Dixie fills us in on all of Gavin’s troubled past, his history with Dixie and what happened in the year when Dixie was in Houston. (You don’t have to read book one to understand what is going on, but I highly recommend starting from the beginning of the series because the characters are pretty complex and their stories intertwine throughout the books.) Dixie is Gavin’s salvation, his motivation and his one true love.

Admittedly, I get really into a book when I’m reading it. I get lost in the characters and the story. This book pulled me in farther than most. I cried more than once. At one point I was openly sobbing. This book is that emotional.

The bottom line: Missing Dixie is an emotional and highly-charged story of coming back from the darkness, finally accepting help and finding redemption in the light of the love of your life. The book has a happily ever after that ties up not only Missing Dixie, but the entire Neon Dreams series. There is even a surprising short epilogue that made me smile. I’m sad that the series is over, but I am so glad I found it.

Review: Loving Dallas by Caisey Quinn

loving dallas

Title:  Loving Dallas

Series: Neon Dreams

Author: Caisey Quinn

Publication Date: June 16, 2015

Genre:  New Adult & College Romance

Pages:  320 pages

Rating:  5/5 stars

Synopsis:  In the second novel in bestselling author Caisey Quinn’s Neon Dreams series, a country rock band and its members embark on the rocky road to fame and find love along the way.

Every dream comes with a price…



I’m familiar with it.

I’ve had to leave behind everyone I cared about—my sister, my best friend, my band, and my high school sweetheart—in order to chase my dream of making it in Nashville.

But when Robyn Breeland walks back into my life, it’s as if the universe has decided to give me a second chance.  I’m just not sure it’s one I’m willing to take.



I practically majored in it.

Dallas Lark was the first boy I ever loved and the one who’d shattered my heart into pieces.  But I’ve moved on. Working in promotions at Midnight Bay Bourbon, I’m too busy to sit around moping over my ex. But when my company decides to sponsor his tour, I’ll have to face him whether I’m ready to or not. Dallas is determined to drive me to distraction, and my body begs me to let him.

Trouble is, my heart can’t tell the difference between a second chance and making the same mistake twice.

 Review:   I realize this novel has been out for several months, but it bears revisiting since the latest book in the series was released last week.

A little background about the Neon Dream series – the series is about the members of the band Leaving Amarillo.  The band is made up of Dallas, his sister, Dixie, and their best friend, Gavin.  They are a complicated group of people who come from difficult backgrounds and are family to each other.  Each book in the series focuses on one of the band members.  The first book, Leaving Amarillo, is about the three of them collectively, but mostly focuses on Dixie.  Book two is Dallas’s story and book three is Gavin’s.

Loving Dallas is an emotional story of second chance love.  Dallas and Robin were high school sweethearts.  They were everything to each other, until Robin broke it off without explanation.  Dallas kind of went off the rails a little after the break up, but he never forgot Robin, or stopped loving her.  In Loving Dallas, they are unexpectedly brought back together and their love is given a second chance.  Of course, with all great books, the path to happily-ever-after is paved with speed bumps.

I wasn’t a big fan of Dallas in book one.  Oh, you know it.  I kind of love Dallas now.  Poor, understood Dallas.  He really redeems himself and who knew he had such alpha tendencies in him.

Loving Dallas will make you swoon, laugh, cry and cheer.  This book had one of the best HEAs of the books I’ve read of late.